LOWERING

Help and advice section for technical questions on your Corsa.
Please check that your query hasn't already been answered in FAQ and Technical Info section.

Moderator: Octane2097

jonny-1-note
CB-Uk Newbie

LOWERING

Post by jonny-1-note »

ive no clue on cars as im an engineer/fab/welder but i would like to lower the car. any of you guys can tell roughly how much this would cost it would be appreciated :) . and ive a post bout some alloys if any 1 has any? as i have original ones on so wot size can i fit under them arches.
PaulW
Administrator

LOWERING

Post by PaulW »

right... you have 3 options for the suspension...

Springs (cheapest)
Uprated Shocks & Springs (semi-cheap)
Coilovers (Expensive)

Springs can be got from £60+ for a set, but avoid Pi as they aint really too good. Whiteline (if you can afford them) make great springs, Gmax are pretty common & are ok. Only thing with springs, is your original dampers need to be in relativly good condition, or they will mess up after a few months if you go for around 60mm drop. 35-40mm on springs is the norm really. Fitting, around £25-£30+ a corner. Maybe cheaper depending if you know the people well.

Uprated Shocks & Springs. Best setup I can think of here is Koni Yellows & WhiteLine Springs... but they will be expensive! Again, lowering springs are same costs as above, but the shocks add up the costs. Some shocks can be quite cheap, around £45 a corner, but others (such as Koni Yellows) are around £75ish a corner. Thats £300 already on shocks & then say another £100 on a good set of springs... + fitting = £500ish. You can go lower than 40mm, ride will be harder but much more controlled than with springs. Fittings - add about another £15-£20+ a corner...